Communication design is the design of information through different media - for example posters, books, websites, apps, fonts and more. The aim of the study course Communication Design at the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design is to teach students the necessary technical, aestetical and conceptional skills.

The study course starts with a foundation period which is concluded with an intermediate examination after a maximum of three years. The following main study period is completed with a diploma. The university perceives itself as a "school of independece" and offers academic liberty for developing theoretical and practical abilities within a non-modularised degree programme.

Application

The department accepts about 10 to 15 new students per semester out of roughly 200 to 250 applicants. Each applicant has to pass a two-stage application process to be accepted for study.

First, a portfolio needs to be sent in containing 10 to 20 original works, each marked with name and date of origin. Instead of three-dimensional works, photos of the same should be provided. The portfolio should be sturdy, closable and may not exceed the size of DIN A1.

After having passed the portfolio test applicants are invited to a full-day examination at the university. They will be surveyed through practical assignments and an interview with the professors. The examination takes place between June 1st and July 31st.

The procedure applies to all students wanting to start their first semester here, both German and foreign. Applicants from outside Germany are additionally required to present adequate knowledge of the German language, and must possess a high school leaving certificate to be accepted to the entrance exam.

Detailed information on the application process for foreign students can be found on the website of the Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design. For information on the Erasmus exchange programme, please click here.

Teachers

  • Ivan Weiss and Michael Kryenbühl are working as freelance graphic designers under the name Johnson / Kingston in Berne and Lucerne. In addition to classic projects in the area of visual identity, poster or book design they realize projects at the interface between design and technology. They are concerned with the conversion and the productive examination of the possibilities of new tools and the search for new experimental forms of expression.
    www.johnsonkingston.ch

  • James Langdon works as an independent graphic designer and writer. He is one of six founding directors of the artist-run gallery Eastside Projects in Birmingham (UK), where he combines graphic design with display and curatorial practice. Since 2012 he has directed the itinerant School for Design Fiction, a model for an alternative design education applying knowledge and methodology from fields as diverse as archaeology, cognitive neuroscience, and speculative realism.
    jameslangdon.net

  • Rebecca Stephany is in charge of the department. She works with and between the disciplines design, art and theory. In her practice, she combines commissions and self-initiated projects, often in collaboration with others. Current works and projects with students test out positions and range in the extended field of visual communication, autonomy and service. Stephany studied art and graphic design at the HfG Offenbach and the Gerrit Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, where she taught at the Department of Design from 2007 until 2016. She lives in Amsterdam and Karlsruhe.
    rebeccastephany.com

  • Sereina Rothenberger lives in Zurich and runs the design studio Hammer together with David Schatz. In addition to commissions within the cultural domain she undertakes self-initiated projects dealing with book and type design. From 2010 to 2013 she taught Editorial Design within the Master of Arts programme at the Zurich University of the Arts.
    hammer.to

  • Anton Stuckardt studied graphic design at the Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach and the Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam. From 2014 to 2015 he was a researcher at the Jan van Eyck Academy, Maastricht (project: "La Maison Platte - Architecture in the Thin Space of Virtuality"). Since 2014, he has co-operated with the translator Maximilian Gillenßen, the publisherhouse zero sharp, which translates and distributes the authors of the French avant-garde. He is also a freelance graphic designer in Berlin.
    www.zerosharp.org/Bucher

  • Juliane Hohlbaum is artist assistant at the department. After her bachelor studies in Halle, during which she created the concept and design of the first issues some magazine, she studied at the Muthesius Academy of Fine Arts and Design in Kiel. She focusses on Editorial Design and is additionally overseeing Corporate Design projects.
    julianehohlbaum.com

All professors, assistants, employees and visiting lecturers are temporarily employed. This leads to constant changes within the department and guarantees exposure to current developments in design and art — an almost unique constellation.

These are some of the guests, teachers and professors we've had over the years:

+mehr

Students

Currently there are about 400 students inscribed at the University of Arts and Design of which about 110 students study Communication Design. It is one of the smallest design departments in Germany.

A list of some student's websites is given below.

Links

Workshops

Students have access to many different workshops. The Communication Design department disposes of a photo studio, a workshop for silkscreen printing and one for letterpress, a printing room and a large workspace studio. Apart from these, all workshops of all departments can be used, such as for working wood, metal and electronics or for sound and film. A library which is shared with the ZKM (Center for Art and Media) facilitates engagement with current literature about design theory and practice.

Contact

Staatliche Hochschule
für Gestaltung Karlsruhe
Lorenzstr. 15
76135 Karlsruhe, Germany

Tel +49 721 8203–0
Fax +49 721 8203–2159
hochschule@hfg-karlsruhe.de
Webseite of the
Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design

Contact persons

Office Communication Design,
responsible for inquiries concerning the department:
Mrs. Sokoll, ssokoll@hfg­-karlsruhe.de
Telephone: +49 721 8203­2245
Fax: +49 721 82032352
Opening hours: Mon­–Thu 10–12 AM, closed on Fridays

Students' Office,
responsible for students' inquiries:
Mrs. Eisenmenger, eisenmenger@hfg­-karlsruhe.de
Telephone: +49 721 8203­2369
Opening hours: Mon­–Thu 10–12 AM, closed on Fridays

Student assistant,
responsible for website content, project entries and linking of portfolios:
Anna Cairns, kd-archiv@hfg-karlsruhe.de

How to get here

By public transport:
From main station, take line 2 (direction Lessingstraße) and get off at the stop "ZKM". The university is located to the left. From the city center, take line 5 (direction Rheinhafen) and get off at the stop "Lessingstraße".

By car:
Coming from the A5, take exit Karlsruhe Mitte. On the south tangent, take exit 4 ZKM. Drive on Brauerstraße past the Europahalle (towards the city centre), then take next road to the left intro the Südendstraße. Take the first road to the right into Lorenzstraße.

Imprint

The Karlsruhe University of Arts and Design is a statutory body under public law. It is legally represented by the Principal, Prof. Dr. Siegfried Zielinski. It is regulated by the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts (MWK) for Baden-Württemberg, Postfach 10 34 53, 70029 Stuttgart, Germany. Person responsible for content as required by §55 RStV: Prof. Dr. Siegfried Zielinski.

Liability disclaimer

Whilst we take great care to ensure the accuracy of the information contained herein, we accept no liability for the content of external links. Responsibility for the content of the linked pages remains exclusively with their owners.

Copyright indication

Concept and design: Anna Cairns, Matthias Gieselmann, Igor Kuzmic, Tais Sirote. Programming: Pascal Bremmer, Matthias Gieselmann. Supervision: Indra Häußler, Urs Lehni. Photos of projects by Anna Cairns or the respective students. Credits for teachers' pictures: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. All other photos by Damian Domes and Evi Künstle.

 

 

Info

Kommunikationsdesign
an der HfG Karlsruhe

Kommunikationsdesign ist die Gestaltung von Medien zur Vermittlung von Informationen. Kommunikationsdesigner gestalten Plakate, Bücher, Websites, Apps, Schriften und mehr. Ziel des Studiengangs Kommunikationsdesign an der HfG Karlsruhe ist es, Studenten die dazu nötigen technischen, ästhetischen und konzeptionellen Fähigkeiten zu vermitteln.

Der Studiengang gliedert sich in ein Grundstudium, das mit einem Vordiplom abgeschlossen wird, und ein Hauptstudium, an dessen Ende die Diplomarbeit steht. Der Abschluss mit Diplom entspricht dem Grundverständnis der HfG: Freiraum für die Entwicklung theoretischer und praktischer Fertigkeiten und Fähigkeiten zu bieten und eine „Schule der Selbständigkeit“ zu sein. Hier herrscht die akademische Freiheit nicht-modularisierter Studiengänge.

Bewerben

Der Fachbereich Kommunikationsdesign nimmt von etwa 200 bis 250 Bewerber/innen jedes Jahr ungefähr 10 bis 15 neue Student/innen auf. Um zum Studium zugelassen zu werden, muss ein zweistufiges Auswahlverfahren absolviert werden.
Die erste Stufe besteht aus einer Mappenprüfung. Dazu muss eine Mappe mit 10 bis 20 selbst angefertigten Arbeiten abgegeben werden, welche lesbar mit Namen und Entstehungsdatum versehen sind. Statt dreidimensionaler Arbeiten sollen Fotos derselben beigefügt werden. Die Mappe sollte stabil und verschließbar sein und darf das Format DIN A1 nicht überschreiten.
In der zweiten Stufe werden ausgewählte Bewerber/innen zu einer Aufnahmeprüfung eingeladen, bei der sie einen Tag lang gestalterische Aufgaben bearbeiten und zu einem kurzen, persönlichen Gespräch mit den Professoren eingeladen werden. Die Prüfung findet in der Zeit zwischen dem 1. Juni und dem 31. Juli statt.
Ausführliche Informationen sowie Bewerbungsunterlagen sind auf der Website der HfG Karlsruhe zu finden. Studierende aus dem Ausland, die ein Austauschsemester an der HfG absolvieren wollen, finden hier weitere Informationen.

Lehrende

  • Ivan Weiss und Michael Kryenbühl arbeiten unter dem Namen Johnson / Kingston in Bern und Luzern als freischaffende Grafiker. Neben klassischen Projekten im Bereich Visuelle Identität, Plakat- oder Buchgestaltung realisieren sie Projekte an der Schnittstelle zwischen Gestaltung und Technologie. Es geht ihnen dabei um die Umnutzung und die produktive Auseinandersetzung mit den Möglichkeiten neuer Werkzeuge und die Suche nach neuen experimentellen Ausdrucksformen.
    www.johnsonkingston.ch

  • James Langdon arbeitet als unabhängiger Grafikdesigner und Schriftsteller. Er ist einer von sechs Gründungsmitgliedern der von Künstlern geführten Galerie Eastside Projects in Birmingham (UK), wo er Grafikdesign mit Display und kuratorischer Praxis kombiniert. Seit 2012 leitet er die Wanderschule für Design Fiction, ein Modell für eine alternative Designausbildung, die Wissen und Methodik aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen wie Archäologie, kognitive Neurowissenschaften und spekulativen Realismus anwendet.
    jameslangdon.net

  • Rebecca Stephany leitet den Fachbereich und arbeitet mit und zwischen den Disziplinen Gestaltung, Kunst und Theorie. In ihrer Praxis kombiniert sie dabei Auftragsarbeiten und selbstinitiierte Projekte, oft in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen. Aktuelle Arbeiten und Projekte mit Studenten erproben Positionen und Spielräume im erweiterten Feld von Visueller Kommunikation, Autonomie und Dienstleistung. Stephany studierte Kunst und Grafikdesign an der Hfg Offenbach und der Gerrit Rietveld Academie Amsterdam, wo sie von 2007 bis 2016 am Fachbereich Gestaltung unterrichtete. Sie lebt in Amsterdam und Karlsruhe.
    rebeccastephany.com

  • Sereina Rothenberger betreibt in Zürich zusammen mit David Schatz das Studio Hammer. Zusätzlich zu Auftragsarbeiten im Kulturbereich realisiert sie freie Projekte im Bereich Buch- und Schriftgestaltung. 2010 bis 2013 dozierte sie am Master of Arts in Bereich Editorial Design an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste.
    hammer.to

  • Anton Stuckardt studierte Grafikdesign an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach und der Gerrit Rietveld Academie, Amsterdam. 2014 - 2015 war er als Researcher an der Jan van Eyck Academie, Maastricht (Projekt: "La maison plate - architecture in the thin space of virtuality"). Seit 2014 betreibt er zusammen mit dem Übersetzer Maximilian Gilleßen den Verlag zero sharp, der sich der Übersetzung und Verbreitung von Autoren der französischen Avant-Garde widmet und arbeitet als freischaffender Grafikdesigner in Berlin.
    www.zerosharp.org/Bucher

  • Juliane Hohlbaum ist künstlerische Mitarbeiterin am Fachbereich. Nach ihrem Bachelorstudium in Halle, in dem sie u.a. die ersten beiden Ausgaben des some magazines konzipierte und gestaltete, studierte sie an der Muthesius Kunsthochschule Kiel. Ihre Schwerpunkte sind Konzeption und Entwurf im Bereich Editorial Design. Seit 2011 betreut sie außerdem Projekte im Bereich Corporate Design.
    julianehohlbaum.com

Alle Professoren, Mitarbeiter, Lehrbeauftragte und Gäste sind befristet angestellt. Das führt dazu, dass sich der Fachbereich in einem kontinuierlichen Wandel befindet und ständig den Kontakt zum aktuellen Geschehen in Bereichen wie Gestaltung, Kunst etc. hält — eine nahezu einzigartige Konstellation.

Dies sind einige der Gäste und Lehrenden aus den vergangenen Jahren:

+mehr

Studierende

Momentan sind an der Hochschule etwa 400 Studierende eingeschrieben, davon circa 110 in unserem Fachbereich Kommunikationsdesign. Das macht ihn zu einem der kleinsten Fachbereiche seiner Art in Deutschland.

Es folgt eine Liste einiger studentischer Portfolios.

Links

Werkstätten und Arbeitsplätze

Studierende haben Zugang zu den unterschiedlichsten Werkstätten einer hervorragend ausgestatteten Hochschule. Der Fachbereich Kommunikationsdesign verfügt über ein Fotostudio, eine Siebdruckwerkstatt, einen Plotterraum, eine Letterpresswerkstatt sowie ein großes Studio zum Arbeiten. Darüberhinaus können alle Werkstätten der anderen Fachbereiche genutzt werden, wie etwa die Holz-, Metall- und Elektrowerkstätten oder die Sound-, Film- und Schnittwerkstatt. Eine Bibliothek, die mit dem Zentrum für Kunst und Medien geteilt wird, ermöglicht die Beschäftigung mit aktueller Fachliteratur.

Kontakt

Staatliche Hochschule
für Gestaltung Karlsruhe
Lorenzstr. 15
76135 Karlsruhe
Tel +49 721 8203–0
Fax +49 721 8203–2159
hochschule@hfg-karlsruhe.de
Webseite der HfG Karlsruhe

Ansprechpartner

Sekretariat Kommunikationsdesign,
zuständig für Anfragen über den Fachbereich:
Frau Sokoll, ssokoll@hfg­-karlsruhe.de
Telefon: +49 721 8203­2245
Fax: +49 721 82032352
Öffnungszeiten: Mo­–Do 10.00–12.00 Uhr, Freitag geschlossen

Studentensektretariat,
zuständig für Anfragen von Studierenden:
Frau Eisenmenger, eisenmenger@hfg­-karlsruhe.de
Telefon: +49 721 8203­2369
Öffnungszeiten: Mo­–Do 10.00–12.00 Uhr, nachmittags nur nach Absprache, Freitag geschlossen

Studentische Hilfskraft,
zuständig für Inhalte der Webseite, Projekteinreichungen und Verlinkung der Portfolios:
Moritz Schottmueller, kd-archiv@hfg-karlsruhe.de

Anfahrt

Mit der Straßenbahn:
Ab Hauptbahnhof mit Linie 2 (Richtung Lessingstraße) bis zur Haltestelle ZKM. Die HfG liegt in Fahrtrichtung links.Vom Zentrum aus mit Linie 5 (Richtung Rheinhafen) bis zur Haltestelle Lessingstraße.

Mit dem PKW:
Von der Autobahn (A5), Ausfahrt Karlsruhe Mitte, über die Südtangente, Ausfahrt 4 ZKM, auf der Brauerstrasse an der Europahalle vorbei (Richtung Innenstadt),dann die nächste Möglichkeit links in die Südendstrasse, daraufhin die erste Abzweigung rechts in die Lorenzstrasse.

Impressum

Die Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe ist eine Körperschaft des Öffentlichen Rechts. Sie wird durch ihren Rektor Prof. Dr. Siegfried Zielinski gesetzlich vertreten. Die zuständige Aufsichtsbehörde ist das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg, Postfach 10 34 53, 70029 Stuttgart. Inhaltlich Verantwortlicher gemäss §55 RStV: Prof. Dr. Siegfried Zielinski.

 

Haftungshinweis

Trotz sorgfältiger inhaltlicher Kontrolle übernehmen wir keine Haftung für die Inhalte externer Links. Für den Inhalt der verlinkten Seiten sind ausschliesslich deren Betreiber verantwortlich.

Urheberhinweis

Konzept und Gestaltung: Anna Cairns, Matthias Gieselmann, Igor Kuzmic, Tais Sirote. Programmierung: Pascal Bremmer, Matthias Gieselmann. Betreuung: Indra Häußler, Urs Lehni. Fotos der Projekte von aktueller (s. Kontakt) sowie ehemalig zuständigen studentischen Hilfskräften oder den jeweiligen Studierenden. Bildnachweise Lehrende: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. Alle anderen Fotos von Damian Domes und Evi Künstle.

 

 

Info

Kommunikationsdesign
an der HfG Karlsruhe